Graduate Alumni

Student

Advisor

Current/Previous Positions,
Honors & Awards

Shovon Ashraf, PhD
2002
sashraf@fas.harvard.edu

Yicktung Ip

Postdoc: Harvard Univ. Molecular & Cellular Biology

Chaitali Banerjee, PhD
1999
chaitali.banerjee@auxeris.com

Janet Stein

Senior Scientist, Auxeris Therapeutics, Inc., St. Louis, MO
Previous positions: Scientist, Dyax Corp, Cambridge, MA ; postdoc: UMASS Medical School, Cell Biology/J.Stein

Peter Bangs, PhD
1999
jpbangs@attbi.com

Edward Fey

High school science teacher: Dartmouth HS, Dartmouth, MA
Previous position: Cutaneous Biol Research Ctr, Massachusetts General Hosp, Charlestown, MA

Gary Bassell, PhD
1992
bassell@aecom.yu.edu

Robert Singer

Assistant Prof., Dept of Neuroscience, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Bronx, NY;
Previous positions: 1992-1995 Research Fellow in Medicine (Neurology), Center for Neurologic Diseases, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, MA (laboratory of Dr. Kenneth Kosik); 1992-1995 Research Fellow in Neurology, Harvard Medical School;
1995 Instructor, Neurology, Harvard Medical School; 1995-1998 Assistant Professor Department of Anatomy and Structural Biology, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Bronx, NY

Maureen Blomberg-Wirschell, PhD
2004
wirsch@cellbio.emory.edu

George Witman

Postdoc: Dept of Cell Biology, Whitehead Biomedical Research Bldg, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta, GA – lab of Dr. Winfield Sale

Diane Casey, PhD
2003
Diane.Casey@umassmed.edu

George Witman

Postdoc: Center for Infectious Disease & Vaccine Research, UMASS Medical School, in lab of Dr. Irene Bosch

Matthew Cielinski, PhD
1994

Sandy Marks

Dentist: Keene, New Hampshire

Christine Clemson, PhD
1998
christine.clemson@umassmed.edu

Jeanne Lawrence

Postdoc: UMASS Medical School, laboratory of J. Lawrence

Jason Dictenberg, PhD
2000
jdictenb@aecom.yu.edu

Stephen Doxsey

Postdoc and FRAXA Fellow, laboratory of Dr. Gary Bassell, Albert Einstein School of Medicine, New York

Christophe Echeverri, PhD
1998
echeverri@cenix-bioscience.com

Richard Vallee

CEO/CSO: Cenix BioScience, Dresden, Germany
Award: Named on 2003 list of the world’s Top Young Innovators by Technology Review, MIT’s Magazine of Innovation.
Previous position: postdoc at European Molecular Biology Laboratories.

Nicole Faulkner, PhD
2001
Nicole.Faulkner@genzyme.com

Richard Vallee

Associate Director, Molecular Diagnostic Laboratory, Genzyme Genetics.
Previous positions: July ’01-June ’03: Joint postdoctoral fellow in Oncology at Genzyme Genetics and at

Harvard Medical School ’s American Board of Medical Genetics Training Program. Granted Board Eligibility in 2003

Andrea Femino, PhD
2001
femino@aecom.yu.edu

Robert Singer

Instructor, Dept of Structural Biology & Anatomy, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Bronx, NY

Cheryl Gatto, PhD
2004
cjgatto@meganet.net

Stephen Lambert

Postdoc: Children’s Hospital, Div. of Neuroscience, Boston, MA

Alla Grishok, PhD
2002
agrishok@mit.edu

Craig Mello

Postdoc: MIT, Center for Cancer Research, Cambridge, MA

Cynthia Guidi, PhD
2004
cg8w@virginia.edu

Anthony Imbalzano

Postdoc:University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA

Soraya Gutierrez, PhD
2003
sgutierr@udec.cl

Gary Stein

Assistant Professor, Universidad de Concepcion, Departamento de Biologia Molecular, Concepcion, Chile

Kimberly Harrington, PhD
2003
kharrington7@hotmail.com

Janet Stein

Forensic Scientist, Indiana State Police, Lavell, IN

David Hartley, PhD
1996
dhartley@jaguar1.usouthal.edu

Silvia Corvera

Assistant Professor, Dept. of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, Univ. of South Alabama, Mobile, AL
Previous positions: Postdoc: 1999-2001 at Boston Univ. (lab of Dr. Geoffrey Cooper); Postdoc: 1996-1999 at The Salk Institute for Biological Studies (lab of Dr. Bartholomew Sefton)

Sharon Hughes Tynan, PhD
2000
stynan@meso-scale.com

Richard Vallee

Current: Dept of Pathology, College of Physicians & Surgeons, Columbia University, NY
Previous positions: Postdoc, Johnson & Johnson

Cordula Kirchgessner, PhD
1992
cordula@comcast.net

Louis Degennaro

2002-present: Independent Consultant
Previous positions: ’91-’92 – Postdoc, Dept of Genetics, Stanford Univ. School of Medicine; ’92-’96 – Research Associate ’96-’02 - Assistant Professor: Radiation Oncology, Division of Radiation Biology, Stanford University School of Medicine

Edward Lamperti, PhD
1990

Lydia Villa-Komaroff

Instructor, Graduate Medical Sciences,Boston University
Previous position: Instructor in Neurology, Children’s Hospital

Thomas Last, PhD
1998
TJLast@caribsurf.com

Janet Stein

Assistant Prof,Medical School of the Americas, Nevis, West Indies
Previous position: postdoc – Eunice Kennedy Shriver Center

Kin-Mang Lau, PhD
2002
kmlau@cuhk.edu.hk

Shuk-Mei Ho

Scientific Officer, Division of Haematology, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Prince of Wales Hospital, Shatin, N.T., Hong Kong, SAR
Other training: Kimmel Cancer Institute, Philadelphia PA, Tufts University, Boston MA

Mai Luong, PhD
2003
mai@steele.mgh.harvard.edu

Janet Stein

Postdoc, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA

Laura Megeath, PhD
2000
Laura_megeath@hms.harvard.edu

Justin Fallon

Children’s Hospital, Division of Neuroscience, Boston, MA
Previous positions: Department of Neuroscience, Brown University, Providence, RI

Richard Melloni, PhD
1993
melloni@research.neu.edu

Louis Degennaro

Assistant Prof, Psychology & Assistant Director, Interdisciplinary Behavioral Neuroscience, Northeastern Univ., Boston, MA
Previous positions: Assist. Prof, Psychiatry & Neuroscience, UMASS Medical School, 1995-1998; Instructor, Psychiatry, UMASS Medical School, 1994-1995; Post-Doctoral Fellow, Neurology and Cellular and Molecular Biology, University of Massachusetts Medical School, 1993 - 1994

Nichole R. Mercier, PhD
2004
Nichole.mercier@childrens.harvard.edu

Lawrence Bonassar

Associate Licensing Manager, Intellectual Property Office, Children’s Hospital, Boston, MA

Martin Montecino, PhD
1996
mmonteci@udec.cl

Gary Stein

Professor, Universidad de Concepcion, Departamento de Biologia Molecular, Concepcion, Chile

Paul Odgren, PhD
1996
Paul.odgren@umassmed.edu

Edward Fey

Associate Professor, Department of Cell Biology, UMASS Medical School, Worcester, MA, Postdoc: UMASS Medical School/Dr. Sandy Marks

Bryce Paschal, PhD
1993
bmp2h@virginia.edu

Richard Vallee

Associate Professor of Biochemistry & Molecular Genetics, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA
Postdoc: Scripps Research Institute

Jonathan Phillips, PhD
2004

Lawrence J. Bonassar

Postdoctoral program at the NASA Ames Research Center in California

Christian Rocheleau, PhD
2000
christian.rocheleau@mcgill.ca

Craig Mello

Assistant Professor at McGill University in the Department of Medicine and a Canadian Research Chair
Previous position: Postdoc, Dept. of Genetics, Philadelphia, PA, Lab of Dr. Meera Sundarum, UPenn School of Medicine, Philadelphia, PA

Cynthia Sparks, PhD
1996
Doxsey1@earthlink.net,
csparks@assumption.edu

Edward Fey

Part-time faculty – AssumptionCollege, Dept of Natural Sciences, Worcester, MA
Previous positions:Part time faculty until Jan 2004, Regis College, Weston, MA ; Recruitment coordinator, UMASS Medical School GSBS, 2000; Postdoc: Worc. Foundation for Biomedical Research/Dan McCollum

Chin-Yin Tai, PhD
2003
taic@its.caltech.edu

Richard Vallee

Postdoctoral Scholar: Division of Biology, California Institute of Technology, lab of Erin Schuman

Yingdee Unhavaithaya, PhD
2004

Craig Mello

Postdoc, DukeUniversity / Haifan Lin, Durham, NC

Andre Van Wijnen, PhD
1992
Andre.VanWijnen@umassmed.edu

Gary Stein

Professor, Dept. of Cell Biology, UMASS Medical School, Postdoc at UMASS Medical School/Gary Stein

Kenneth Wright, PhD
1991
wrightKL@moffitt.usf.edu

Janet Stein

Assistant Professor, Interdisciplinary Oncology Program, Member-In-Residence, H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center, Tampa, FL, Postdoc: Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center, Univ. of North Carolina

Yigong Xing, PhD
1993
pyxsmh02@comcast.net

Jeanne Lawrence

Dept of Anesthesiology, Sturdy Memorial Hospital, Attleboro, MA

Aaron Young, PhD
2000
young@tht.com

Stephen Doxsey

Attorney: Testa, Hurwitz & Thibeault, LLP, Boston, MA