• anes_slide 1
  • anes_slide 2
  • anes_slide 3
  • anes_slide 4

Chairman's welcome

Stephen Heard, M.D.

Welcome to the Department of Anesthesiology at the University of Massachusetts Medical School and UMass Memorial Medical Center. We provide excellent clinical care, have important research initiatives, and have well respected training programs in  anesthesiology and critical care medicine. Our faculty are dedicated to the education and training of our future doctors. The Department provides anesthesia services at UMass Memorial Medical Center on three different campuses for over 35,000 surgical procedures per year. In addition, we provide critical care services in three surgical intensive care units as well as an electronic intensive care unit (eICU) which monitors the condition of patients remotely. Read More... 

Department Events

  • Tuesday, October 07, 2014

    Clinical Comp Meeting - Faculty Only

    Hosted By: Anesthesiology
    Location: Periop Conf Room H2-874
    3:00PM - 4:00PM

  • Wednesday, October 08, 2014

    Grand Rounds - QIC

    Hosted By: Anesthesiology
    Location: Amphitheater II, 4th fl. school
    7:00AM - 8:00AM

  • Wednesday, October 08, 2014

    Gas Laws w/Dr. Shahnarian (CA-1's)


  • Wednesday, October 08, 2014

    Vaporizers w/Dr. Shahnarian (CA-1's)

    Hosted By: Anesthesiology
    Location: Anesthesia Library, S2-752
    9:10AM - 10:10AM

  • Wednesday, October 08, 2014

    Resident Meeting w/Drs. Duduch, Kaur and Heard

    Hosted By: Anesthesiology
    Location: Anesthesia Library S2-752
    10:20AM - 11:20AM

  • Wednesday, October 08, 2014

    Keywords w/Dr. Zayaruzny




  • Congratulations to Drs. Matthew Stebulis and Nicholas Petrinec. Dr. Heard recently announced that they will be Chief Residents for the 2013-2014 academic year.
  • Dr. Spiro Spanakis was elected as MSA Vice President for the 2012-2013 year.
  • Dr. Bronwyn Cooper and Dr. Elifce Cosar have been promoted to Clinical Associate Professor of Anesthesiology and Dr. Matthias Walz has been promoted to Associate Professor of Anesthesiology.