ambros-group

Victor Ambros Principal Investigator
Victor Ambros, Ph.D.
Silverman Professor of Natural Sciences, Program in Molecular Medicine
Ambros CV
victor.ambros@umassmed.edu
(508) 856-6380
UMass RNA Therapeutics Institute, UMass Program in Molecular Medicine
Lee_Rosalind Senior Scientist
Rosalind Lee, B.S.
Program in Molecular Medicine
rosalind.lee@umassmed.edu
(508) 856-6382
Darla Cavanaugh Administrative Assistant
Darla Cavanaugh
Program in Molecular Medicine
darla.cavanaugh@umassmed.edu
(508) 856-6877
I enjoy my positions as Victor's assistant as well as the IGP Administrator. When I’m away from the office, I enjoy travelling and spending time with my best friend and husband, John. 

Current Members

Samantha Burke

Samantha Burke
Graduate Student

Program in Molecular Medicine
samantha.burke@umassmed.edu
(508) 856-6309
I am a graduate student studying the role of miRNAs in organ morphogenesis. Prior to joining the lab, I was an undergraduate at MIT.

Sungwook Choi

Sungwook Choi
Graduate Student

Program in Molecular Medicine
sungwook.choi@umassmed.edu
(508) 856-6364
I got my Bachelors degree at POSTECH and Masters Degree at SNU, Korea. I joined the Ambros lab as a graduate student in the year of 2011 and currently am interested in diverse functions of LIN-28 in C. elegans.

/uploadedImages/Ambros_Lab/100_1321.JPG

Orkan Ilbay
Graduate Student

Program in Molecular Medicine
orkan.ilbay@umassmed.edu
(508) 856-3065
I received my Bachelor's degree from Middle East Technical University in Turkey.  I am interested in genes that control temporal patterns of development in C. elegans.

/uploadedImages/Ambros_Lab/100_1270.JPG

Chitra Kanchagar
Research Lab Technician

Program in Molecular Medicine
chitra.kanchagar@umassmed.edu
(508) 856-6364
I have a Master of Science degree in Cellular Biology from the University of Georgia. I am currently assisting in the identification of miRNA biomarkers in patients affected by acetominophen-induced liver injury.

McJunkinK

Katherine McJunkin, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow

Program in Molecular Medicine
Katherine.mcJunkin@umassmed.edu
(508) 856-6304
I did my doctoral research with Scott Lowe at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. My current research focuses on post-transcriptional regulation of microRNAs.

Zhiji Ren

Zhiji Ren
Graduate Student

Program in Molecular Medicine
zhiji.ren@umassmed.edu
(508) 856-3065
As a graduate student in the lab, I am interested in studying the modulation of microRNA mediated gene regulation with genetic sensitized strains. I have been working on the impacts of endosomal trafficking and pathogen on microRNA's activity.

SterlingC

Catherine Sterling, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
Program in Molecular Medicine
Catherine.sterling@umassmed.edu
(508) 856-6364
I received my B.A. in Genetics, Cell and Developmental Biology from Dartmouth College (where I met and worked for Victor and Candy) and Ph.D. in Genetics from Yale University. After graduate school, I taught at a small boarding school in Maine before returning to the bench for a Post-Doc in the Ambros lab. I am currently working on projects centered around the identification of miRNA biomarkers in disease.

 

Alejandro Vasquez Rifo, Ph.D.    

Postdoctoral Fellow
Program in Molecular Medicine
alejandro.vasquezrifo@umassmed.edu
(508) 856-6338
I received my Ph.D. in Molecular and Cellular Biology from Laval University.

/uploadedImages/Ambros_Lab/100_1271.JPG

Isana Veksler-Lublinsky, Ph.D.       Postdoctoral Fellow  

Program in Molecular Medicine
isana.veksler-lublinsky@umassmed.edu
(508) 856-6343
I received my PhD in Bioinformatics from Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel.  During my PhD I had studied miRNA regulation in host-virus interactions. I am currently working on developing new computational methods for studying miRNA regulation in C. elegans, with a focus on the let-7 family.  I
n my free time, I and my family explore the beautiful area around.

Anna Zinovyeva

Anna Zinovyeva, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow

Program in Molecular Medicine
anna.zinovyeva@umassmed.edu
(508) 856-6343
I received my BA from the University of Maine at Farmington and PhD from Indiana University. Currently, I’m interested in better understanding the mechanisms of miRISC function.

 


Former Members

Allison Abbott 

Allison L. Abbott, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences

Marquette University, Wehr Life Sciences, Ste 308
PO Box 1881, Milwaukee WI 53201
Ofc: (414) 288-4422, Email: allison.abbott@marquette.edu
View web page

Susan Euling

Susan Euling, Ph.D.
Biologist

EPA's National Center for Environmental Assessment
1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Washington  20460
Ofc: (703) 347-8575, Email: euling.susan@epa.gov
View NCEA website

Christopher Hammell

Christopher Hammell, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, Watson School of the Biological Sciences
One Bungtown Road, 213 James Building, Cold Spring Harbor NY 11724
Ofc: (516) 367-5207; Lab: (516) 367-5210
Email: chammell@cshl.edu
website

Molly Hammell

Molly Hammell, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, Bioinformatics Shared Resource
One Bungtown Road, Quick Buildings - Office 4418, Cold Spring Harbor NY 11724
Ofc: (516) 367-5009
Email: mhammell@cshl.edu

Omid Harandi

Omid Harandi, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow

Medicine, Hem/Onc
BIDMC/Department of Medicine, Division of Hematology/Oncology, Harvard Medical School, Harvard Stem Cell Institute

330 Brookline Avenue, E/CLS-437
Boston, MA 02215
oharandi@bidmc.harvard.edu

Yang Hong

Yang Hong, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Dept. of Cell Biology and Physiology
University of Pittsburgh,
S362 BST, 3500 Terrace Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15261
Ofc: (412) 648-2845, Email: yhong@pitt.edu
View web page

Xantha Karp, PhD

Xantha Karp, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Department of Biology
Central Michigan University, 183 Brooks Hall,
Mount Pleasant, MI  48859
Ofc: (989) 774-1267
View web page

Zhongchi Liu

Zhongchi Liu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics
University of Maryland, 0124 Biosciences Research Building
College Park MD4
Ofc: (301) 405-158
View web page

Eric Moss

Eric Moss, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Dept. of Molecular Biology, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
University of Medicine and Dentistry of NJ, Strattford NJ 08084
Ofc: (856) 566-2896; Lab: (856) 566-2866
Email:
mosseg@umdnj.edu
View web page

Maria Ow

Maria Ow, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow

University of Syracuse 
900 South Crouse Avenue
Syracuse, NY  13244


Ann Rougvie

Ann Rougvie, Ph.D.
Professor

University of Minnesotta, 321 Church Street,
Dept. of Genetics, Cell Biology and Development, 6-160 Jackson Hall,SE Minneapolis MN 55455
Ofc: (612) 624-4708; Lab: (612) 625-3161
Email:
rougv001@umn.edu
View web page

Rick Roy

Rick Roy, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biology

McGill University, Stewart Biology Building, Room W5/17
1205 Avenue Docteur Penfield, Montreal, QC H3A 1BA
Ofc: (514) 398-6437; Lab: (514) 398-6438
View web page


Nicholas Sokol

Nicholas Sokol, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor Biology Molecular, Cellular & Devel. Biology

Indiana University, Department of Biology, 100 E. 3rd Street, Jordan Hall 142, Bloomington IN 47401

Ofc: (812) 856-6812
Email:
nsokol@indiana.edu
View web page

Elizabeth-Jeanne Thatcher

Elizabeth-Jeanne Thatcher, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Infectious Disease

University of Massachusetts Medical School, Lazare Research Building, 364 Plantation Street, Worcester, MA  01605
Program in Molecular Medicine  Email:
elizabeth-jeanne.thatcher@umassmed.edu

 

WolfsonA

Alexey Wolfson, Ph.D.,   MBA                                                                                                                                                           
Founder and CEO

Advirna
1 Kendall Square, Bldg 600, Suite 6201
Cambridge, MA  02139
Email: 
Alexey.wolfson@advirna.com
View web page