UMMS Self-Study Task Force 

The centerpiece of the accreditation process is an institutional self-study which will be overseen by a task force, charged by the dean, collectively representing the broad range of stakeholders and key constituencies for our educational program leading to the MD degree. The Self-study Task Force will include individuals spanning the spectrum of our diverse educational community, representing faculty, students, staff, administration, community affiliates, trustees, residents and alumni.

In overseeing our self-study, the Task Force and its subcommittees will comprehensively review, analyze and assess our medical education program, with the goal of defining our institutional strengths as well as opportunities for improvement and further development. As specified by the LCME: “The task force will synthesize its individual subcommittee reports into a final self-study summary report that includes a statement of institutional strengths and issues that require attention, either to ensure future compliance with accreditation standards or to improve programmatic quality.” The Task Force self-study summary report will be broadly disseminated across our UMMS educational community and submitted to the LCME. 

Task Force Subcommittees

Institutional Setting
Education Program
Medical Students
Educational Resources
Integrating CTS into Education

Task Force Leaders

Terence Flotte, MD*Dean, Provost and Executive Deputy Chancellor, Task Force Chair
Michele Pugnaire, MD*Senior Associate Dean for Educational Affairs, LCME Project Director and Self-Study Coordinator
Jeroan Allison, MDAssociate Vice Provost for Health Disparities
Robert Baldor, MDEPC Chair, Director, Community-Based Education
Martin Broder, MDAssociate Dean, Medical Education, Berkshire Medical Center
Anthony Carruthers, PhDDean, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
Deborah DeMarco, MDSenior Associate Dean, Clinical Affairs
Octavio Diaz, MD, MPHAssociate Dean, Medical Education, Saint Vincent Hospital
Eric Dickson, MDSenior Associate Dean, UMass Medical Group; Interim President, UMass Memorial Medical Group
Melissa Fischer, MD, MEd+Associate Dean, Undergraduate Medical Education
Caitlin FogartyMD/PhD candidate, 1st Year Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Student
Susan Gagliardi, PhDProfessor of Cell Biology and Neurology
David Harlan, MDDirector, Diabetes and Endocrinology Research Center
Deborah Harmon Hines, PhDVice Provost, School Services
Christina Hernon, MDAssistant Professor of Emergency Medicine
Robert Jenal*Vice Chancellor, Administration and Finance
Julia Johnson, MDChair and Professor of Obstetrics & Gynecology
Julie Jonassen, PhDProfessor of Physiology
Thomas Kramer3rd Year Medical Student
Michael Kneeland, MD, MPH*+Associate Dean, Allied Health and Interprofessional Education
Anne Larkin, MDAssociate Professor of Surgery
Daniel Lasser, MD, MPHChair and Professor of Family Medicine & Community Health
Mitchell Li2nd Year Medical Student
Elaine Martin, DADirector, Library Services
Robert Matthews, PhDChair and Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
Bharath NathMD/PhD candidate, 4th Year Medical Student
R. Norman PetersUniversity of Massachusetts Trustee
Deborah Plummer, PhDAssociate Vice Chancellor, Diversity and Equal Opportunity
Jaime Rivera, PhDAssistant Professor of Cell Biology
Mai-Lan Rogoff, MD+Associate Dean, Student Affairs
Noah Rosenberg3rd Year Medical Student
Alice ShakmanVice President, Operations, UMass Memorial Medical Center
Rebecca Spanagel, MDAssistant Professor of Clinical Medicine, Site Director, Medicine Clerkship
Gyongyi Szabo, MD, PhDAssociate Dean, Clinical & Translational Sciences Division
Dawn Tasillo, MDAssistant Professor of Obstetrics & Gynecology
Luanne Thorndyke, MD*+Vice Provost, Faculty Affairs
Robert Weinstein, MDProfessor of Medicine, Chair of Faculty Council
Cara Weismann4th Year Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Student
Robyn Wing, MDPGY2, Pediatrics
Ralph Zottola, PhDAssociate Chief Information Officer, Research Computing Services

* Indicates member of LCME 2012 Accreditation Oversight Committee
+ Indicates LCME 2012 Database Section Leader